Experience of my life

Our second weekend is just over now. The last 3 days were the best 3 days I experienced in the U.S..

I learned so much about American or rather Texan culture.

On Friday afternoon we went to a typical Texan restaurant. There were moose heads as decorations and it was actually the first time I realised we are in Texas because all people were looking like typical American.

These two trucks just underline my presumption of an Texan restaurant.

 

After this we went to an American Football High School Game. It was amazing: we had soooo much fun. We even met one of the athletes and trumpet player.

Coincidentally, she was the sister of our companion Michaela. She is soooo talented. It was the typical Hig School Situation you see in the Hollywood Movies.

On Saturday we went to Six Flag – an amusement park. We had a lot of fun because I love to ride rollercausters.

I rode overall 3 rollercausters and the Free Fall Tower.  After we came back. We went to Pizza Classic. Fistu Students of the last year told us that Pizza Classic is a must have if you are at Trinity and they were right!

But before we could eat it, a small misunderstanding occured. We ordered a Pizza Supreme. It included Pepperoni, Beef, Mushrooms, Onions. We said that we do not want to have Beef.

After the Pizza came we noticed that there were salami pieces on it. We went to the register and complained that we did not want to have any meat on it. Why is there salami on it?

The man asked you mean peperoni?

And we answered: „No, we mean the salami.“

Suddenly, we realized that by Peperoni it`s meant salami and not the green vegetable we know from Germany.

It was such a funny situation and this was the first time I realized what our teachers meant by „False Friends“ – vocabulary which confuses you…

Luckily, the man offered us a new pizza.

 

The Sunday was an amazing day because we went to Austin. And Mikki organized Kayaking. I never had so much fun on water. I like to swim, that`s why I was the first person who jumped into the water and then I forced Mikki and Nadja and Florentina…

The only thing which makes me a little bit sad is the fact that we could not take our mobiles with us… but of course safety first!

We also went for lunch at Torchy`s. It was with Green the best food I ate here in Texas.

 

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar